top of page
  • Writer's pictureMara Nechifor

Planning - Plot/Story and Song Analysis

Updated: Apr 24, 2022

After a lot of discussion and research on what song to choose, Antonia and I decided on a song that we both like and that fits our personalities and genre preferences well. The genre of this song is pop, and it will match well with our vision. This song is composed by an Albanian singer, which we both thought was a good opportunity to experiment with as it has Albanian features and lyrics in the song. This song was highly compared to Rihanna's and SIA's styles of music, therefore making it a good choice for this project.


ORIGINAL MUSIC VIDEO - ERA ISTREFI - BONBON

Below, i have displayed both the original lyrics and the english version of the song. As well as some explanations to certain lyrics.


ORIGINAL LYRICS


[Intro]

Unë jom Era

Unë jom Era edhe koha jeme o tu ardhë

Nëse jo ti

E du unë vetën

S'kom nevojë për ty hejo

Edhe vet unë e thejo

Sun m'rrxon jom knejo

Sun e bon, sun e bon, sun e bon, sun e bon bon

Bon bon edhe nëse sbon sbon

Explanations

Unë jom Era - translates to I'm Era

Sun e bon, sun e bon, sun e bon, sun e bon - This line is Alban and means “You can’t do it, can’t do it, can’t do it, can’t do it do it.”

Bon Bon - These are references to sweets, its the general name given to chocolate in Europe. In Albania and Kosovo (where Era is from), hosts offer bonbons to guests.

These lines use the word as a metaphor for acts of intimacy with her.


[Pre-Chorus]

Don don, bet you wanna taste it

Bon bon, bet you wanna taste it

E di që ti don don, don

Bon bon edhe nëse sbon sbon

Don don, bet you wanna taste it

Bon bon, bet you wanna taste it

E di që ti don don, don


[Chorus]

Hajde merëm ikim, nëse e don qiken

King je deri ta qes piken

Hajde merëm ikim, nëse e don qiken

King je deri ta qes piken


[Bridge]

Sunday night, I put a light

In my blunt right

In my blunt right

Explanations

Even though Era is talking about how they broke up, she doesn’t care too much and chooses to 'smoke a blunt' to relax.


[Verse]

S'nihem mo sëm vyn kurgjo

Kur t'm vyn s'je mo m'ke përdor

Futja, futja, hajt

Gonna be alright

Bounce edhe rrite rrite basin yo

'Cause my time has come, rrite basin

Po dojn me bo si na

Se na high jena, *****, high dhe mellow

Uu ca kom pas s'pe masim

Uu ti ma ke thy pasin

Mi lexoj sytë edhe shprehjen n'buzë

E skenoj kejt ca kom nër blluz


[Chorus]

Hajde merëm ikim, nëse e don qiken

King je deri ta qes piken

Hajde merëm ikim, nëse e don qiken

King je deri ta qes piken


[Outro]

Honey, vec ni sen para sy ta kishë

T'kom tregu që me mu kur e prishë e prishë

Plot mundësi jo ma anej

Se kur ftofë niherë, jo mo nuk e nxej

ENGLISH LYRICS


[Intro]

Un jom Era.

Un jom Era, and I'm coming for the light

All or nothing

Now or never

Coming straight from the KO

And my heart knows the way, oh

Never get in my way, oh

Sun e bon sun e bon sun e bon sun ebonbon


[Pre-Hook]

Bonbon, I know what you want

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

I know what you want, want, want

Bonbon, can you get it done, done?

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

Bonbon, my sip will get you wasted

I know what you want, want, want


[Hook]

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya


[Verse 1]

Sunday night, I put a light in my blunt right

In my blunt right

Spending dough til we all go broke that is our M.O

Let it go if you wanna ride

Gonna be alright


[Verse 2]

Bounce to the rhythm while we pour some more

Cause my time has come and I'm bossin'

Them wanna, wanna flex with us

Cause we higher than the limit, high and mellow

Oh, all the lines we crossin'

Oh, the drama we be causin'

So sick like we got that flu

I'ma switch it up, my hair turn blue


[Hook]

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya


[Outro]

I'ma let you out here if you cross the seas

If you wanna melt, you gotta heat the freeze

Nothing's sweet like my honey

That you'll have to lick, before you can taste



ENGLISH VERSION Un jom Era

Un jom Era, and I'm coming for the light

All or nothing

Now or never

Coming straight from the KO

And my heart knows the way, oh

Never get in my way, oh

Sun e bon sun e bon sun e bon sun ebonbon


[Pre-Hook]

Bonbon, I know what you want

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

I know what you want, want, want

Bonbon, can you get it done, done?

Bonbon, bet you wanna taste it

Bonbon, my sip will get you wasted

I know what you want, want, want


[Hook]

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya


[Verse 1]

Sunday night, I put a light in my blunt right

In my blunt right

Spending dough til we all go broke that is our M.O

Let it go if you wanna ride

Gonna be alright


[Verse 2]

Bounce to the rhythm while we pour some more

Cause my time has come and I'm bossin'

Them wanna, wanna flex with us

Cause we higher than the limit, high and mellow

Oh, all the lines we crossin'

Oh, the drama we be causin'

So sick like we got that flu

I'ma switch it up, my hair turn blue


[Hook]

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya

Nice to, nice to meet ya

Mister, I'ma teach ya

King, but you met your first Queen, ya


[Outro]

I'ma let you out here if you cross the seas

If you wanna melt, you gotta heat the freeze

Nothing's sweet like my honey

That you'll have to lick, before you can taste

The song's overall message is about Era and her boyfriend, who have gone through a break-up. However, the message is relatively empowering and carries a happy tone. Similar to most mainstream artists, Era has included the use of phrases related to intimacy to appeal to the audience.




5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page