top of page
  • Writer's pictureMara Nechifor

FRONT & BACK COVERS

Updated: May 17, 2021




I believe that deciding the final photograph to use for this Issue's cover was one of the most challenging parts of this ending result.


I wanted a very powerful photo that was captivating, for this I decided to chose a photo that would have the model look straight into the camera, this would ultimately create a connection between the reader and the model as it appears as the model is making direct eye contact with the reader.


This photo in my opinion, is very powerful as my model is dressed in dark colours, making direct eye contact and the way the model is posing is suggesting confidence and power. I wanted to capture the viewers attention therefore I decided to keep the photo coloured.









I initially planned to use this photo for my cover because I like the colour palette of it and the direct eye contact that Anna makes with the camera.


However I feel like its a bit too heavy on the eyes and it would be a distraction from what would go inside the magazine. Therefore I decided to stick with the photo of Victor.


You may see on the next post that I did end up using this picture in one of my editorials, because I do believe that this photo is very nice.








For the back cover, I though it would be interesting to use this photo, as it essentially a very similar photo to the one I chose for the front cover, and the fact that Victor is coving his face in the photo makes the back cover correlate with the front cover.


It is important to keep the back cover relatively simple and not have it be more powerful than the front cover.


I believe that the combination of these two photos has great potential to make a very eye catching set of covers.







THE PROCESS

The process of learning how to work on Illustrator and Photoshop was pretty challenging, however, thankfully my colleagues were very helpful and taught me a few of the basics. My AS Media studies teacher helped me swell and did a great job explaining everything, for the rest I played around in the apps and figured out how to work with the many different options these apps offer.

here are the different stages of my work...



FINAL RESULT

This is the final result in picture format, you may see the mockup in the up coming posts.

I am very pleased with how it turned out, I personally feel like the way I placed the two photos facing each other is very clever as when the magazine is closed they are facing apart from each other.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page