top of page
  • Writer's pictureMara Nechifor

How does FLAIR challenge conventions and how does it represent social groups or issues?

Updated: May 17, 2021

My colleagues and I established Flair Magazine, which is a fashion magazine with an artistic viewpoint on youth culture. We all worked together to and defied conventions, and I could not be more pleased with the end result, the creativity and eye-catching qualities of our publication. Since the themes we selected aren’t something you see in everyday magazines, especially in these types of magazines, it ended up being a bit less conventional. However, we choose to adhere to some standards, and the magazine defies the majority of them in innovative ways.


You will notice that our front covers aren’t your standard fashion magazine covers if you look at it closely. We wanted to keep it simple while still catching the reader’s attention. We concluded by presenting the Flair Logo (masthead), the issue title, and the issue number as the most important parts of information about the magazine. Fashion magazines frequently include more information on their front covers, such as article titles, quotes, personalities featured in the magazine, and so on. We all started by looking through various fashion magazines and rather than using lots of words and other features on the front cover, we decided to use images and fashion to draw in our audience.


We all shared similar ideas, interests, and objectives for the magazine from the very start. Again, we recognize that this form of publication is unusual; but we have determined that this is the best strategy for us as a group and as individuals. This approach is the most compatible with our personalities, therefore we are more inspired and enthusiastic to work, allowing us to differentiate ourselves from the rest and generate a distinct and original final product.


When it comes to assessing the issues individually, there aren’t many differences because my group and I all choose to adopt the same branding style. Specific elements that had to be the same had been agreed upon. We also opted to use the same fonts, similar colours, and image sizes for the most part to keep consistency. However, there will be significant differences between the issues. We all agreed, for example, that the titles of our magazines should be written in distinct fonts. In addition, I choose to follow a number of norms relating to the general design and concept of my editorial. I was inspired by the traditional designs and templates used by well-known fashion publications such as Vogue, Elle, and others. I also chose large images with minimal text that relate to the magazine’s general theme and genre. As I previously mentioned, we wanted to make the magazine basic, clean, and unique while appealing to the audience.


In terms of social groups and issues, we were able to focus on empowering and pushing the next generation of youngsters to be creative and not be afraid to let their feelings and styles emerge through their clothes by shaping our magazine the way we did. When it comes to showcasing their innovative abilities, young people are frequently ignored. As a result, the manner we designed our publication provides a lot of opportunity for interpretation. Finally, we wish to empower the youth and future generations by keeping things out of the ordinary.


This entire project has been an incredible learning experience and opportunity for me, and it has inspired me to pursue a career in photo editing and photography. My devotion drove me to the issue and topic name; Issue No. 3 ‘Lights, Elegance, Focus. The inspiration for this name came from what I think about when doing photoshoots, and it accurately represents my entire aesthetic. I also left room for interpretation because the name is derived from the phrase “Lights, Camera, Action.” Growing up, I’ve always enjoyed performing, which is where I got the idea for the title, which is based on the phrase “Lights, Camera, Action.” When an actor, actress or model hears those three words, they are immediately on their best behaviour, in character, and confident. This is why for my issue, I took the ‘LCA’ well-known saying and used it as inspiration for my title.


Fashion is a reflection of one’s inner self and has a deeper meaning than merely dressing up for a night out. You can’t help but feel powerful and strong when you wear that one “picture-perfect” outfit. I want to encourage the younger generations to express themselves via their clothing to be self-assured and confident. ‘Elegance’ stems from my fondness for classic and simple aesthetics, which is why my issue is unique in that I clothed my models in polished and elegant attire. My colleagues, on the other hand, concentrated on various clothing trends. Finally, the term ‘focus’ is important because you must concentrate on yourself and live your life as if you are the protagonist. Focus on what you want and what you do, not considering what other people think, which can potentially bring you down. Similar to one of my colleagues, Irina, I believe that many people are judged and pushed away from their desires and dreams; therefore, you must focus on yourself only.


Throughout my issue, you’ll notice that, unlike my colleagues, I concentrated on a single prominent colour per image. On the other hand, they focused on making it vivid, with a variety of colour patterns visible in the images. I wanted my models to make a statement with their confidence, which I expressed through particular poses and a minimal colour palette. In addition, I strategically picked my models to be young and lively in order to inspire our target audience. Because the models are in the same age group as our viewers, they can relate to the content, and the impact is much greater. I also utilized photographs with a lot of colour, but my main aim was to make the model the most significant component of the image. Furthermore, I kept the color palette for the written text minimal as I did not want it to be too distracting and risk crowing or complicating the photos. Ultimately, the magazine looks balanced out and easy to read without being heavy on the eyes.


In my opinion, our magazine will have a beneficial impact on the audience by establishing a dedicated fanbase for people who will eagerly anticipate future editions because they will be able to relate to our magazine on a deeper level. Finally, because this is the most successful approach to engage with our viewers and readers Flair concentrated on social groups and topics. Our ultimate goal is to encourage our readers to be creative and express themselves via fashion.



2 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page