top of page
  • Writer's pictureMara Nechifor

PLANNING - Topic, Content & Concept

Updated: Apr 9, 2021


Team Brainstorming

My team and I decided that we would all make a separate issue for our magazine. That meaning we would have a total of 4 different editions of the Flair Magazine. The number system will be kept simple, they'll be from 1-4. I decided I wanted Issue No. 3 because 3, is my lucky number.

We then collectively decided that we would each have something in common with our different issues to make them easily recognisable and have them tie in together.


Personal Brainstorming         

The process of coming up with ideas and the actual brainstorming of my final ISSUE was a very lengthy one. I first tried to come up with a few potential ideas for the name of my ISSUE, I tried combining a few words that described what I wanted my photoshoot to be like and arrange them around into making a name for my ISSUE. I quickly realised the didn't work out a planned because my photoshoot hadn't happened yet, so I decided to put this on pause.


I proceeded to brainstorm and decide what I wanted to include in my edition of the flair magazine, knowing that we are making a fashion and youth culture magazine, I was certain about including articles about things that are popular today, e.g. famous fashion statements, famous artists, apps people are on, etc. Most importantly, I want to include articles about fashion today and how it's something that describes character and how social media and all of the things stated above can influence everybody's style . I want to include this to further encourage our main purpose or the magazine we created.



After both of my photoshoots had taken place (more detail on them is on this post), I added a few more ideas to the notes I made for my ISSUE's name. My initial idea with mixing words from my photoshoot had Allen right into place and I finally decided on my name...




Flair ISSUE No.3 'Lights, Elegance, Focus'

Lights, Elegance, Focus? What do I mean by that , you may ask.


Going into this Media Studies Project I was asked to describe my style, at first I mumbled and said I was unsure, I had a blurry idea in the back of my head that my style is a mix between elegant and street style. I then started thinking deeply, having late night thoughts and envisioning what I want my style to be and what is has become.

At the very beginning of this projet, I had a rocky start and was very stressed. I had to manage finishing all of my projects on my small ipad mini that is relatively old and has full storage. Furthermore, when i had to make a decision on what kind of magazine i wanted to create i was disoriented and unsure of whether i wanted to go on and make something similar to vogue or make something more outgoing. When my group was formed and we decided to make 4 diferent ISSUE's and have them be differebnt yet have some similar charateristics, a light bulb lit in my mind. I would going to include my own elegant element in the ISSUE. That would be the aspect that makes mine different and be easily recognisible while still having the lights in common with the rest.


Still, why lights, elegance, focus?

Have you ever heard the phrase "lights, camera, action" ? This phrased is used in photography and filming. When you hear "lights, camera, action", you know you have to be ready to get into character. It doesn't matter what kind of character, it could be a character you're portraying in a movie, music video, or photoshoot. Whatever and whoever it is, when you hear those simple word, you know you need to be ready. As for me, instead of keeping those 3 well-known words, I put my own twist to it and made it 'lights, elegance, action'.

Ironically, when i was at my first photoshoot with Anna, i said "lights on, be elegant and focus" and this phrase sort of stuck with me, so i thought it would be perfect to use it for my Magazine Issue.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page